top of page

Call for Special Sessions

IROS 2018 seeks to provide focused discussions on new topics and innovative applications of established approaches during the conference. Therefore, the organization of Special Sessions is encouraged.


All deadlines are 23:59 PST

Jan 21, 2018

Special Session Proposals submission deadline

Feb 09, 2018

Notification of acceptance

Mar 9, 2018

Special Session Papers submission deadline

Oct 2-4, 2018

Special sessions

A special session consists of eight related papers, which could all address for example a particular theme or consist of work done in some particular international project, or a specific subfield of robotics. The goal of these sessions is the proposed authors can meet to discuss the topic and their papers.

IROS 2018 welcome active members or coordinators of ongoing collaborative projects, focused PhD research training groups, special interest groups, or any other organizers to submit their proposals for Special Sessions.

How to write a proposal for a Special Session

Sessions are divided into eight slots. Proposals for special sessions should include:

  • A proposed title for the session,

  • A brief 2-3 paragraph summary for the session explaining the goal of the session and the overarching themes of the submitted papers,

  • A list of papers with name and a short biography of contributing authors, and tentative abstracts (max. 2 page extended) for the papers, which will not be published in the proceedings.

Prospective organizers are invited to submit their "Special Session Proposals" according to the template for Word, and submit it completed to Proposals with significant overlap will possibly be merged.

Once a Special Session is accepted, the papers organized under that session will then be submitted to the PaperPlaza system by March 9, 2018. These papers will undergo the same strict review process like all other IROS 2018 papers and, if accepted, published in the proceedings.

Special sessions proposals will be revised by the


Cecilia Laschi – SSSA, Pisa

Tamim Asfour – KIT, Karlsruhe

Christian Laugier - INRIA, Grenoble

Nikos Papanikolopoulos  - U Minnesota

Alberto Sanfeliu - UPC, Barcelona

Jing Xiao - UNC, Charlotte

Eiichi Yoshida - AIST, Tsukuba

bottom of page