top of page


Conference Paper Award Finalists and Winners

IROS 2018 Best Paper Award, Finalists

Airborne Docking for Multi-Rotor Aerial Manipulations.

Ryo Miyazaki, Rui Jiang, Hannibal Paul, Koji Ono, Kazuhiro Shimonomura

Information Sparsification in Visual-Inertial Odometry.

Jerry Hsiung, Ming Hsiao, Eric Westman, Rafael Valencia, Michael Kaess

Robust Visual-Inertial State Estimation with Multiple Odometries and Efficient Mapping on an MAV with Ultra-Wide

FOV Stereo Vision.

M. G. Müller, F. Steidle, M. J. Schuster, P. Lutz, M. Maier, S. Stoneman, T. Tomic, W. Stürzl WINNER

Approximate Distributed Spatiotemporal Topic Models for Multi-Robot Terrain Characterization.

Kevin Doherty, Genevieve Flaspohler, Nicholas Roy, Yogesh Girdhar

Learning Image-Conditioned Dynamics Models for Control of Underactuated Legged Millirobots.

Anusha Nagabandi, Guangzhao Yang, Thomas Asmar, Ravi Pandya, Gregory Kahn, Sergey Levine, Ronald S. Fearing

Video Motion Capture from the Part Confidence Maps of Multi-Camera Images by Spatiotemporal Filtering Using

the Human Skeletal Model.

Takuya Ohashi, Yosuke Ikegami, Kazuki Yamamoto, Wataru Takano, Yoshihiko Nakamura

IROS 2018 ABB Best Student Paper Award, Finalists

Risk-Based Human-Aware Multi-Robot Coordination in Dynamic Environments Shared with Humans.

Zeynab Talebpour, (Alcherio Martinoli)

Online inference of human belief for cooperative robots.

Moritz C. Buehler, (Thomas H. Weisswange)

Online Temporal Calibration for Monocular Visual-Inertial Systems.

Tong Qin, (Shaojie Shen) WINNER

Indoor Mapping and Localization for Pedestrians using Opportunistic Sensing with Smartphones.

Qing Liang, (Lujia Wang, Youfu Li, Ming Liu)

Embedded and Controllable Shape Morphing with Twisted-and-Coiled Actuators.

Jiefeng Sun, (Ben Pawlowski, Jianguo Zhao)

Configuration Space Metrics.

Hong J. Jeon, (Anca D. Dragan)

JTCF Novel Technology Paper Award for Amusement Culture, 2018 Finalists

Classification of Hanging Garments Using Learned Features Extracted from 3D Point Clouds.

Jan Stria, Václav Hlaváč

City-Scale Road Audit System using Deep Learning.

Sudhir Yarram, Girish Varma, C.V. Jawahar

Real-Time Dance Generation to Music for a Legged Robot.

Thomas Bi, Péter Fankhauser, Dario Bellicoso, Marco Hutter WINNER

Hands and Faces, Fast: Mono-Camera User Detection Robust Enough to Directly Control a UAV in Flight.

Sepehr MohaimenianPour, Richard Vaughan WINNER

RoboCup Best Paper Award, 2018 Finalists

Robust Object Recognition Through Symbiotic Deep Learning In Mobile Robots.

João Cartucho, Rodrigo Ventura, Manuela Veloso

A Multimodal Classifier Generative Adversarial Network for Carry and Place Tasks from ambiguous Language Instructions.

Aly Magassouba, Komei Sugiura, Hisashi Kawai WINNER

Learning Implicit Sampling Distributions for Motion Planning.

Clark Zhang, Jinwook Huh, Daniel D. Lee

IROS Best Paper Award on Cognitive Robotics sponsored by KROS, 2018 Finalists

Persistent Anytime Learning of Objects from Unseen Classes.

Maximilian Denninger, Rudolph Triebel

Adaptive robot body learning and estimation through predictive coding.

Pablo Lanillos, Gordon Cheng

Human Motion Classification based on Multi-Modal Sensor Data for Lower Limb Exoskeletons.

Jonas Beil, Isabel Ehrenberger, Clara Scherer, Christian Mandery, Tamim Asfour

Comparison of Multimodal Heading and Pointing Gestures for Co-Located Mixed Reality Human-Robot Interaction.

Dennis Krupke, Frank Steinicke, Paul Lubos, Yannick Jonetzko, Michael Gorner, Jianwei Zhang

Learning Synergies between Pushing and Grasping with Self-supervised Deep Reinforcement Learning.

Andy Zeng, Shuran Song, Stefan Welker, Johnny Lee, Alberto Rodriguez, Thomas Funkhouser

Augmenting Physical Simulators with Stochastic Neural Networks: Case Study of Planar Pushing and Bouncing.

Anurag Ajay, Jiajun Wu, Nima Fazeli, Maria Bauza, Leslie P. Kaelbling, Joshua B. Tenenbaum, Alberto Rodriguez WINNER

IROS Best Paper Award on Safety, Security, and Recue Robotics in memory of Motohiro Kisoi, 2018 Finalists

Human Motion Prediction Under Social Grouping Constraints.

Andrey Rudenko, Luigi Palmieri, Achim J. Lilienthal, Kai O. Arras

Fire-Aware Planning of Aerial Trajectories and Ignitions.

Evan Beachly, Carrick Detweiler, Sebastian Elbaum, Brittany Duncan, Carl Hildebrandt, Dirac Twidwell, Craig Allen WINNER

Humanoid Teleoperation using Task-Relevant Haptic Feedback.

Firas Abi-Farraj, Bernd Henze, Alexander Werner, Michael Panzirsch, Christian Ott, Máximo A. Roa

GONet: A Semi-Supervised Deep Learning Approach For Traversability Estimation.

Noriaki Hirose, Amir Sadeghian, Marynel Vázquez, Patrick Goebel, Silvio Savarese

IROS ICROS Best Application Paper Award, 2018 Finalists

Planning Hand-Arm Grasping Motions with Human-Like Appearance.

Néstor García, Raúl Suárez, Jan Rosell

Five-fingered Hand with Wide Range of Thumb Using Combination of Machined Springs and Variable Stiffness Joints. 

Shogo Makino, Kento Kawaharazuka, Ayaka Fujii, Masaya Kawamura, Tasuku Makabe, Moritaka Onitsuka, Yuki Asano, Kei Okada, Koji Kawasaki, Masayuki Inaba

Robotic Sewing and Knot Tying for Personalized Stent Graft Manufacturing.

Yang Hu, Lin Zhang, Wei Li, Guang-Zhong Yang

Printing Strain Gauges on Intuitive Surgical da Vinci Robot End Effectors.

Rut Peña, Michael J. Smith, Nicolas P. Ontiveros, Frank L. Hammond III, Robert J. Wood

Closed-Loop Single-Beacon Passive Acoustic Navigation for Low-Cost Autonomous Underwater Vehicles.

Nicholas R. Rypkema, Erin M. Fischell, Henrik Schmidt WINNER

IROS awards winners in 2018

IROS Harashima Award for Innovative Technologies


Wolfram Burgard (University of Freiburg), for pioneering research in robot simultaneous localization and mapping.

IROS Distinguished Service Award


Anthony A. Maciejewski (Colorado State University), for leadership and service on the IROS Conference Paper Review Board.


Hong Zhang (University of Alberta), for leadership and distinguished service for IROS Conferences.

IROS Toshio Fukuda Young Professional Award


Ming Liu (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology), for outstanding contributions to mobile robot path planning and control.

IROS fellow in 2018: Prof. Tamio Arai

IEEE awards winners in 2018

IEEE Technical Field Award in Robotics & Automation: Matt Mason

IEEE RAS George Saridis Leadership Award in Robotics and Automation: Bill Hamel

bottom of page